30 Oct

Admittedly, I am someone who enjoys entertainment reporting. For years, I preferred E! News over the regular local news. I am a trash TV junkie and not so politically minded, so, I connected more with the topics covered on entertainment news than I did with regular newscasts. I could also spend hours on end reading girly magazines. I have had my fair share of exposure to these programs and this type of journalism- a field that I always found to be luxurious and privileged.

Kanye West disses "Kriss Lee"

Chris Lee, entertainment reporter, however, made me realize that entertainment journalism is not as glamorous as I expected it to be. I was shocked to hear about the Kanye West controversy that he got entangled with. Especially because it was seemingly a small, little detail that was left out that caused the whole ordeal.

However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that all journalism is the same and must uphold

to the same standards. Misinformation, especially, is something that could not only lead to people, like Kanye, getting upset, but could really damage someone’s reputation and credibility.

I do appreciate Lee telling us about this experience because I believe I got more of an inside look into what it really means to be a reporter. Every time you are telling someone else’s story, you are taking a risk. His advice really stuck with me because he reminded us that, as reporters, we have to have to be critical and prepared to fight for our point of view. I took the time to look more into the Kanye debacle and was excited to find a “reply” to Kanye’s tweets written by Lee on the LA Times Music Blog. In it, Lee defended his intentions and admitted he was wrong. He not only dealt with the situation professionally by admitting he was wrong but kept his dignity by debunking Kanye’s allegations in an attempt to protect his reputation which is something that I believe all reporters should be prepared to do.

2 Responses to “”

  1. thepressthroughtheeyesofastudent November 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    I had no idea you were such a fan of “trashy” TV but I guess we all have our guilty pleasures. I like the way you interpreted Chris’s talk and in particular how you found the Kanye situation to be something that could be emulated, if you ever misrepresented info of course. From what I heard he seemed like a great speaker and his actions say a lot about the character he has.

  2. Professor McDonnell November 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    It was humble of Chris to share his mistakes; they’re sometimes the best learning experiences.

Leave a Reply

