Facebook Privacy

3 Oct

Let’s be honest, it is hard to remember a time without Facebook. Sure, we all had our Myspace profiles and Xanga pages, but none seem to compare to the impact that Facebook has had on our generation. Sometimes, I wake up to Facebook notifications on my phone in the middle of the night and I check it again when I wake. No, I’m not obsessed, but it has become a habit- a habit that I do not find all that harmful even with Facebook’s newest settings. In the LA Times blog post, the author Chris Gayomali reports on the advances that Facebooks has made on monitoring its users to make it more efficient for its advertisers. Although I find the idea of having to delete my browser’s cookies after every use rather tedious, I also realize that I am choosing to use Facebook. As Jeff Jarvis says in Public Parts, “private and public are choices we make: to reveal or not, to share or not, to join or not,” we are ultimately the ones that decide what is to be posted and seen by our friends. Having to decide what can we seen by only our friends and what can be seen by all may seem annoying, but it is still a choice and no one if forcing us to have a Facebook.

Like Jarvis also says, private and public both have their advantages and disadvantages. I personally find it kind of cool that I could soon look back and see what I posted in the past because I like to see how I’ve progressed. Although I find the live newsfeed unnecessary, I choose to simply ignore it. The way I see it, if people wants to be obsessed over the privacy (or lack of) of Facebook then they should delete their account. Facebook is free anyway and without the behind the scenes work that goes behind it, it would not be free and I’m sure that would also cause discontent and outrage. It is impossible to make everyone happy- Facebook’s newest developments are a gamble that any business must take to evolve and grow.

 

2 Responses to “Facebook Privacy”

  1. jpastore October 4, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Jazmin,

    I agree with you 100% that we choose to create a Facebook profile and must take responsibility for each post and picture we upload. At the end of the day, it was our decision and privacy is in our hands. Great blog post and enjoyed reading a similar view to my own.

  2. kdouthit22 October 11, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    I agree with you on most of your points. Facebook has become such an ingrained part of our cyber lives, especially among our generation, that deleting your account doesn’t even seem like a realistic option. People choose to ignore that option and would rather complain about a lack of privacy. While I do think it is important to check Facebook’s ever-increasing power over our privacy, I agree that it is something we are choosing to sacrifice, not forced to sacrifice. Your one point that I don’t agree with is the whole timeline aspect. Of course, I realize it will probably become ingrained like the rest of Facebook has, but right now I can’t understand why I would want to look at my wall posts from 2007, nor why anybody else would want to see what people wrote on my wall back then.

Leave a Reply

