Blogging Manifesto

12 Sep

Hello- my name is Jazmin Sanchez. I am currently a junior communication studies major at Loyola Marymount University working on getting her journalism certificate. For as long as I could remember, I have loved to read and write. I was the girl who asked for books over toys and would beg my mom to take me to the library after school where I would spend hours at a time reading a single book. As I grew older, I was inspired by my favorite authors to write my own stories which I would later share with my friends and family. Once I got to high school, I thought it was only appropriate to feed my appetite for the written word by joining the yearbook staff of my school. Upon my yearbook advisors’ request and encouragement I also joined the newspaper staff. There, I realized my passion for journalism and found myself devoting most of my time to the paper as an editor. From then on I knew that was what I wanted to do. Once I started college, I did little journalistic writing but a lot of blog following, spending any free moment on my favorite blogs. Last year I decided that it was time to actively start working towards my dreams of one day being a journalist which is why I am in this class now. I do hope to eventually start my own personal blog, preferably a healthy living one where I could share my passion for health and fitness as well as my everyday life. I hope that this class could set up the foundation I need to become a successful and engaging blogger. I rely on my passion and determination to help me be successful in this class and I believe that they will help me propel forward towards my career in journalism. I definitely feel like I am a digital native. In fact, I don’t remember what life was like before I had technology! I doubt it could have been any more intriguing than it is now.

 

One Response to “Blogging Manifesto”

  1. thepressthroughtheeyesofastudent September 14, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Jazmin,

    First off great blog. I had no idea you have been such an avid reader and writer your entire life. Your post had insight into your life that allows me to better understand where you are coming from on future posts. It’s good to know that you are a digital native, and I will volunteer you for any future technology questions in class. Also the humor in the last two lines was appreciated.

Leave a Reply

